National housing and homelessness charity Shelter releases new album today

Four Tet, Wire, Beak> and Ride are just some of many artists who have contributed to the album.

Posted on Oct 1st, 2012 in News, Damo Suzuki / By Alex Yau
Damo Suzuki Music For A Good Home 2, a compilation album from Shelter to raise awareness for homelessness, is released today and includes a plethora of big names from leftfield and alternative music. Marking the twelfth anniversary of Shelter's Audioscope Festival, the 37-track compilation features bands who have performed at the festival since it began in 2001.

Paula McGoveney, head of community and events at Shelter, said:

"This compilation is yet again another brilliant initiative from Audioscope. For a small donation, music fans will be getting their hands on exclusive tracks and help Shelter's work with homeless and badly housed families at the same time.

"Audioscope's support has never been more vital as recent shocking figures show how homelessness is rising. With high unemployment, cuts to the housing safety net and the increasing cost of living all taking their toll, there's a real concern that thousands more ordinary families will face the same nightmare in the coming months and years."

Audioscope co-organiser Stuart Fowkes said:

"The response from bands and musicians and their excitement about being part of the record was phenomenal. It's been remarkable to see that everyone from electronica legends like Four Tet and bands from as far afield as West Virginia to some of the most exciting bands in Britain are as enthusiastic about supporting Shelter as we are."

This year's Audioscope festival takes place on November 10 at the Jericho, Oxford and confirmed acts include Can's Damo Suzuki, Message to Bears, Warm Digits and many more.

The album is available for a £5 minimum donation to Shelter from here.

The full tracklisting is:

1. Four Tet - Audioscope (exclusive)
2. Wire - Moreover (live in Lausanne) (exclusive)
3. Listing Ships - American Steam Company (exclusive)
4. Boxcutter - Cheetah Dub (exclusive)
5. Felix - Circus (exclusive)
6. Warm Digits - Sleep Thieves (exclusive)
7. Fujiya & Miyagi - Coe's Toes (exclusive)
8. Beak> - 0898 (unavailable elsewhere)
9. The Telescopes - Dead Already (exclusive)
10. Richard Walters - Something Once Beat (exclusive)
11. Deco Child - Southpaw (exclusive)
12. Karma To Burn - Jimmy D (Slight Reprise) (exclusive)
13. Ride - Moonlight Medicine (Portishead remix) (deleted - unavailable elsewhere)
14. Rome Pays Off - I Can't Take You Home... (exclusive)
15. SJ Esau - Why Angry? (exclusive)
16. Action Beat - Toad (exclusive)
17. Coloureds - Ted Nelson (exclusive)
18. Mugstar - Bardo Head (exclusive)
19. Karhide - Rough Sleep (exclusive)
20. The Workhouse - Before I Go To Sleep (exclusive)
21. Gunning For Tamar - Astronaut/Abort (LukuS remix) (exclusive)
22. The Half Rabbits - Mayday (exclusive)
23. Laura Moody - Oh Mother
24. Kogumaza - Sevens (deleted - unavailable elsewhere)
25. Flights of Helios - Dynah & Donalogue (Message To Bears remix) (exclusive)
26. Phil McMinn - The General (exclusive)
27. Dethscalator - Aids Atlas (exclusive)
28. Kill Murray - Pheromones (exclusive)
29. Ice, Sea, Dead People - Styes In My Eyes (live at Lost Toys) (exclusive)
30. The Rock of Travolta - Loose Lips Sink Ships (exclusive)
31. Caretaker - Yeehah (exclusive)
32. Alright The Captain - Honey Badger (Karhide Sleepless Nights remix) (exclusive)
33. The Cellar Family - Someone New (exclusive)
34. Magnetophone - All She Could Find (exclusive)
35. Spectrum - Feels Like I'm Slipping Away (remastered) (exclusive)
36. Talons - St Mary Will Be The Death Of Us All
37. Ute - Dissolve (exclusive)
38. Message To Bears - Opus 1 (exclusive)
39. Sennen - Fucrates (exclusive)
40. The Victorian English Gentlemen's Club - I Want You Dead